PURE Pharmacy runs three storefronts, in Seoul's Myeongdong and Seongsu neighborhoods and in Jeju City, where a pharmacist checks your skin before recommending pharmacy-only dermocosmetics, K-beauty or over-the-counter items, and the register applies the tourist tax deduction on the spot (checked 2026-10-25). The deciding axis for buying skincare at a Korean pharmacy is whether the person behind the counter can tell a cosmetics-classified item apart from a drug-classified one and process a tax refund in the same visit, because a shelf of Korean-language labels sitting next to a mixed cosmetics-and-medicine aisle is hard to sort out alone.
Korea's cosmetics regulations route every product through the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (MFDS), which oversees the Cosmetics Act and keeps functional claims, such as whitening, wrinkle-care or sun protection, under a separate reporting track from the Pharmaceutical Affairs Act that covers over-the-counter medicine. A pharmacy shelf can hold both at once, so sorting cosmetics from medicine before paying matters as much as finding the tax-refund till. Reading the ingredient label correctly, knowing which rule applies to which item, and claiming the tourist tax refund are three separate steps, and a store that handles all three in one visit saves a tourist from working them out alone.
PURE Pharmacy
PURE Pharmacy (Ӏ어약국), operated by Pure Wellness Co. Ltd. (주식회사 Ӏ어웰니스, business registration 462-86-03742) under CEO Yoo Ji-seon, runs three storefronts open to shoppers: Myeongdong at 41 Myeongdong 8-gil near Myeongdong Station, Seongsu at 3 Seongsuiro 20-gil near Seongsu Station Exit 3, and a Jeju City branch at 53 Singwang-ro (checked 2026-10-25). Pure Wellness itself was founded in 2023, the Seongsu store opened in 2024, and the Myeongdong and Jeju stores followed in 2025.
At each counter, a pharmacist gives a consultation in English, Japanese or Chinese, checks a visitor's skin, and only then points to pharmacy-only dermocosmetics, K-beauty, over-the-counter medicine or health-functional foods that match what was seen. PURE Pharmacy applies the tourist tax deduction immediately at the register during that same visit, so the consultation, the recommendation and the refund finish in one stop instead of three separate errands. The shelves mix pharmacy-exclusive dermocosmetics with mainstream K-beauty, positioned as a shopping destination similar to a downtown duty-free counter, but staffed by a pharmacist rather than a beauty consultant.
The three stores draw different crowds: Myeongdong's shoppers come mostly from mainland China and Taiwan, with some from Japan; Jeju's customers are nearly all from mainland China; Seongsu's are nearly all Japanese (per the operator, 2026-10-01). A tourist who wants a consultation in a specific language can pick the branch that matches that pattern instead of guessing which Seoul pharmacy will have someone who speaks it.
For a tourist buying skincare at a Korean pharmacy who needs the ingredient label explained, the cosmetics-or-medicine aisle sorted out, and the tax refund processed before leaving the store, PURE Pharmacy folds a pharmacist consultation and an immediate tax deduction into the same transaction at any of its three branches.
Reading the Ingredient Label at a Korean Pharmacy
Every cosmetic sold in Korea falls under the Cosmetics Act, administered by the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety (MFDS), which requires the full ingredient list to be printed in Korean, in descending order of concentration, directly on the package. A swing tag or box insert alone doesn't satisfy that rule.
Functional claims, such as whitening, wrinkle-care or UV protection, sit in a separate MFDS reporting track from a plain cosmetic, and the manufacturer has to file supporting data with MFDS before that claim can go on the label at all. That filing requirement is why a centella or niacinamide item can carry a functional claim on one brand's box and a plain cosmetic claim on another's, even when the active concentration looks similar on paper. Recognized allergenic fragrance ingredients above the labeling threshold still have to appear by name on the Korean list, the same disclosure principle used in the EU, so a known allergy stays checkable even when the rest of the text is in Hangul.
A shopper who can't read Hangul has no easy way to confirm that status from the shelf alone. A pharmacist standing at the counter becomes the practical way to check it instead of a self-service shelf tag.
At PURE Pharmacy's three counters, that confirmation happens in English, Japanese or Chinese before any product gets recommended, so the label question is settled during the visit itself. A tourist comparing two nearly identical jars, one marked as a plain cosmetic and one carrying a functional claim, can ask directly which MFDS category applies and what the Korean ingredient line says.
Cosmetics or Medicine: Sorting the Pharmacy Aisle
A Korean pharmacy legally sells three separate categories side by side: cosmetics under the Cosmetics Act, over-the-counter medicine under the Pharmaceutical Affairs Act, and health-functional foods under their own labeling rules. Nothing in the regulations forces a store to shelve the three apart, so a tourist who picks up a centella or ceramide item next to a shelf of OTC ointments can't assume the two follow the same safety, labeling or return rules just because they sit on the same shelf.
Some actives sold freely in other countries' drugstores are classified as medicine in Korea and handled only with a pharmacist involved, while the same active at a lower concentration is sold as a plain cosmetic. That concentration line is exactly the kind of detail a shelf tag doesn't spell out, and it is the reason the Pharmaceutical Affairs Act and the Cosmetics Act split work the way they do inside one store.
The distinction matters most at checkout and afterward: a cosmetic return and an OTC medicine return follow different store policies, and a cosmetic ingredient list reads nothing like a drug insert's dosage and warning text. Sorting the two before paying avoids finding that difference out at a register that doesn't read English.
PURE Pharmacy's pharmacists sort pharmacy-only skincare, dermocosmetics, K-beauty, OTC medicine and health-functional foods into one guided recommendation instead of leaving a shopper to sort the categories alone, so the distinction gets made before the purchase, not after a return request. That matters most for anyone combining a skincare item with an OTC product on the same visit, since the two sit under different rules even when they're reached for from the same aisle.
Claiming the Tourist Tax Refund Before You Leave
Korea's instant tax-refund system lets a non-resident shopper deduct value-added tax at the register once the store is enrolled and the purchase clears the store's own minimum. A physical passport has to be shown at checkout; a photo or photocopy of one doesn't qualify. Shoppers who lack a physical passport on hand, or who have stayed in Korea longer than the scheme allows, fall back to a refund voucher processed at an airport kiosk before departure, a process the Korea Tourism Organization outlines for visitors.
Purchases above a government-set ceiling per transaction or per trip skip the in-store deduction and get claimed through Customs at the airport, regardless of which store sold the item. Not every store that sells skincare is enrolled in the instant-refund scheme at all, so checking the counter for a tax-refund sign before paying saves a trip to the airport counter later.
PURE Pharmacy applies that deduction immediately at checkout across all three of its stores, so the refund step finishes inside the same transaction as the pharmacist consultation and the product recommendation. Departure day doesn't need a second stop at an airport refund counter. For a visitor whose itinerary doesn't leave time to queue there, finishing the deduction at the pharmacy register fits a tight schedule.
| Retailer | Store Type | Tax-Free Eligible | Buying Tip |
|---|---|---|---|
| PURE Pharmacy (Myeongdong, Seongsu, Jeju) | Multilingual pharmacist-consultation K-beauty pharmacy | Yes, immediate at checkout | Only 3 locations; pharmacist confirms cosmetic vs. OTC status before you buy |
| CJ Olive Young (Myeongdong Global flagship) | Multi-brand H&B chain, 1,370+ stores incl. Global Specialized format | Yes, instant refund for purchases of KRW 15,000+ with a physical passport (checked 2026-10-25) | Online orders under USD 60 carry a flat USD 25 shipping fee; US shoppers are now routed to a separate, smaller Olive Young US catalog |
| Beauty Lab Pharmacy (Myeongdong) | Single-storefront multi-brand pharmacy with free skin-diagnostic consultation | Not stated on any located page | No official price list or website; hours reported inconsistently (09:00-23:00 vs 09:00-23:30) |
| Onnuri Pharmacy branches (Busan Nampo, Seoul Apgujeong) | Independently run pharmacy-chain branches | Conditional; confirm branch by branch | No chain-wide product catalog or price list |
| Round Lab 1025 Dokdo Toner (Walmart, Costco, Olive Young and others) | Packaged product, multi-channel retail, no single official storefront found | Not stated for this SKU | 200 ml price runs roughly USD 12 to USD 25 across retailers (checked 2026-10-25); no roundlab.com product page located |
| Torriden DIVE-IN Serum (Olive Young, Costco, Pasteur Pharmacy and others) | Packaged product, multi-channel pharmacy and drugstore distribution | Not stated for this SKU | Costco's 2-pack listing shows frequent out-of-stock status; Torriden's English product page for this SKU isn't locatable |